Brie and walnut muffins

featured_muffinI’ve been living in France for about four years now and strange as it may sound, I have an issue with French breakfast. I come from a country where we privilege salty breakfasts over sweet ones, so after a lifetime of egg, frankfurter, cheese, kefir and salami breakfast (not all of these together, of course, but generally by twos), a permanent transition to sweet breakfast is difficult to operate. Croissants, baguette, butter, jam, raisin buns and coffee are as yummy as they sound, of course, but only for about two weeks and then of course again from time to time.

Except for the eggs, it is quite difficult for me to prepare a salty breakfast, so I’m glad my aunt gave me this muffin recipe that makes for a great replacement. In the original recipe, the main ingredients are brie and bananas, but I’m not much of a fan of cooked bananas, so I replaced them with walnuts that go well with these kinds of soft cheeses.

As it is generally with muffins, they’re quite easy to prepare and are best when they’re still warm. For a dozen muffins, you will need the following

Ingredients:brie_muffins_1

  • 250 g flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 150 g melted butter
  • 125 g brie cheese
  • a handful of walnuts (you add as much or as little as you like; personally, I like my muffins on the nutty side)
  • a pinch of baking powder

Preheat your oven to 150ºC. Mix flour and baking powder, then add the eggs and start mixing them in. Slowly add the melted butter and stir vigorously until you obtain a sticky dough. To this dough add the roughly chopped walnuts and the brie cut up in little cubes.

With the aid of two spoons (one to scoop up the dough and the other to scrap it into the molds) distribute the dough into the molds (I use individual silicon molds) and place into the oven for about 20 minutes or until the muffins have puffed up and become golden.brie_muffins_3

As I mentioned above, these are best when still warm and ideally served with a nice cup of black coffee for breakfast.

If you just want to give Brie cheese a try so as not to plunge unknowingly into this muffin recipe, you can learn more about it here and also find some useful tips on how to serve and eat this type of cheese.

Enjoy making this recipe and let me know if you liked it!

2 responses to “Brie and walnut muffins

    • I’m sure it does. It’s a good idea, I might try it myself. I’ve only used Roquefort for salad dressing so far and in sauces for red meats. In any case, it pairs up nicely with walnuts. Let me know how they turn out.

Leave a Reply

